Posted by: R M White | 12/06/2016

It Was a Thankful-filled Month

So many great things happened during the month of November – I am always happy to read posts that are filled with gratitude. Of course, I believe we should LIVE in a state of thankfulness but, just like all things, having a time set apart – several weeks – to concentrate just on that is a good thing, don’t you think? I saw a post on Facebook where someone was saying it could get rather braggadocios of people to spout off their blessings … it gave me pause for a minute but then I was like – no, generally, I don’t see it like that.blog-posts-fiveSure, some folks may use that season to brag a bit, but usually I see it as a time that they are giving God the glory for all good things in their life. As for me, I try daily not to take my blessings for granted. I fail miserably at times and so, I am glad we have a month of concentrated gratefulness. November is just super cool. On my other blog I posted five areas of my own grateful heart and still missed out on so much. November’s Thanksgiving Day – I love it. It reminds me. And the good Lord knows, I need to be reminded.

Oh my! This is the holiday season!! Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s Day, and Valentine’s Day are fantastic days to stop and assess the amazing blessings celebrated therein. But remember, those days aren’t happy, fun and glorious for everyone. We need to think prayerfully and take to heart that these four holidays happening in these months can lead to some misery for some … there are those who have less, or have different, or just don’t celebrate the same – if at all. So, it can and maybe should, boil down to times of inner reflection and outward awareness and maybe we and others, can gain so much more from times of holiday enjoyment.

So a biggie that I didn’t expound on or write much on last month, was my being SO thankful for my FAITH!! It’s the foundation on which I build my life and having a faith like this changes things. I will be focusing on a couple of faith-filled notes this month but honestly, I believe having a faith in God and being a Christian should seriously change how a person sees holidays and well, every day of life.

One thing that comes to mind is …. how I love church families. There is an ongoing acknowledgment of uniqueness in our spiritual family – we aren’t always perfect in this by any means, but there’s a definite awareness that in the body of Christ, we are all different but, equal in worth and value. I appreciate those couples and families who go the extra mile to make sure invitations of inclusion are issued, that visits and gifts for the lonely are a part of their celebrating. I appreciate the singles who reach out in what could be their time of aloneness – inviting several friends to their home, making sure others have cards, gifts or little presents, being happy for those who do have spouses and family to celebrate with. I am thankful for those who celebrate but not in a manner that offends others. I am grateful for those who don’t take offense.

Jesus is the amazing neutralizer in all this … He has given us the precept of not holding one day above the other if it offends a brother or sister in the church. All days are equal in that we are to live in Him – practicing love, rejoicing and sharing that with others. However, He also approved and appreciated times of celebration … having a heart of love as mentioned above.

he-made-us-family

And so, I carry on in the middle of gratitude and absolutely loving these times of celebrating. I am aware that I have been taught through the years by humble lives and generous hearts – and it is through those examples I have learned and try to live my best. Let’s work together in making this holiday season wonderful … but not just these particular days but take hold of every single day that the good Lord grants us to be alive!! We are blessed far above what we can even grasp – the gifts of right living to learn from and live out, and the hope of an eternity with Him.

born-again

The Father is so good to me – it’s worthy of celebrating. And sharing His love with others is a must! That is what life is all about.

2-4 Pray diligently. Stay alert, with your eyes wide open in gratitude.

Don’t forget to pray for us, that God will open doors for telling the mystery of Christ, even while I’m locked up in this jail. Pray that every time I open my mouth I’ll be able to make Christ plain as day to them.

5-6 Use your heads as you live and work among outsiders. Don’t miss a trick. Make the most of every opportunity. Be gracious in your speech. The goal is to bring out the best in others in a conversation, not put them down, not cut them out.

Colossians 4:3-6 MSG

 

Save

Leave a Reply

Categories

