Posted by: R M White | 04/28/2016

Immeasurably More Than All We Ask

“Too often, we settle for flying paper planes while God intends for us to travel with Him into the stars.” – Casandra Martin

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,  to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.  Ephesians 3:20,21

What I ask for is just the “starting line” for what is possible for me to experience as a daughter of the King. Have I ever even begun to comprehend the vastness of how God wishes to bless me? My life has been filled with studies in His Word, alive to His promises but, truly, with all that, I believe I am only on the brink of what is possible as I work towards a transforming life in Christ.

I’ve just enjoyed months of study in Ephesians and correlating scriptures – reading multiple versions as I went and all of it left me full and wanting more. I am craving the knowledge, and intimacy that can be mine through prayer, opening the Word, and a surrendering to the power that is at work within me. God has been building a dream within my heart throughout all these years in His presence – moving, transforming, creating me to be ultimately all His. I’m a work of art – being designed by the hands of the Heavenly Father!

immeassurably more

Immeasurably More, by Casandra Martin.

So many songs have come to mind as I ventured in these realms … one of them was this old hymn …

Have Thine Own Way, Lord

  1. Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
    Thou art the Potter, I am the clay.
    Mold me and make me after Thy will,
    While I am waiting, yielded and still.
  2. Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
    Search me and try me, Master, today!
    Whiter than snow, Lord, wash me just now,
    As in Thy presence humbly I bow.
  3. Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
    Wounded and weary, help me, I pray!
    Power, all power, surely is Thine!
    Touch me and heal me, Savior divine.
  4. Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
    Hold o’er my being absolute sway!
    Fill with Thy Spirit till all shall see
    Christ only, always, living in me.

by – Adelaide A. Pollard, 1907

However, let me say here, that I have always sung this song with almost a mournful mindset (maybe it is the tune?)  – like a chastised kid that just got into trouble and finally gives in to the fact that I’m going to be disciplined! “Aw, shucks, God, you win. Just take over, anyway.”

But after this study I am a more happily surrendered woman – thrilled that my life can be left in the capable hands of the Master Designer. It’s a joyful, along with broken, surrender. “Oh, Lord, here I am – take me and do your best!” It’s my choice to give up my own control.

This is not to say I haven’t experienced the definite workings of God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit before now, but for sure there have been moments when my attitude was not the best. It’s when the realization  hits you full … that He truly wants to take you into territory that is beyond all you can imagine … that a sense of wonder and joyful expectation takes over. Wow, I cannot wait to see what all is going to unfold in my heart in the coming days, weeks and months – even years to come.

You see, I don’t think I trusted myself, or God, to know what to ASK! But, now, I want to ask Him to be in the middle of everything!! Be in the middle of my marriage to Lowell, my mothering to my kiddos, my relationship with my earthly family, my church family. Be in the middle of my work with It Works – into the nitty-gritty, hesitancy, fears, uncertain moments of all that life has to throw at me and offer me. Be in the middle of all my daily activities like never before. And then, with all my weaknesses and fears I can trust that when He gives me something to do, He will equip me with what I need to accomplish it  – thus molding me into being more like Christ and giving Him the victory.

So, you may be super far ahead of me in this walk in the Way … but, for me, I love where I am now. Better late than never to bask in His promises and rest in the assurance of knowing He is taking me into His Immeasurably More … day by day, hour by hour. There is such magnificent comfort in this.

The truth is: Jesus came and crucified the myth that we are NOT meant for immeasurably more. Of course, it’s not about “stuff” I have but rather, the “stuff” of which I am made – of all that defines my soul. It’s about His love for me, the power He can pour into my life, and His grace that fill me up! I know, His promises are forever – new and fresh every morning and my transformation is the heart of His love.

I am so thrilled to be His daughter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

