Posted by: R M White | 03/07/2016

Timeless Moments/11 … A Love Story

I enjoy a good love story … most people do. And no one can tell a love story like the heavenly Author. These stories of the Bible so often involve tragedy, suffering and always joy – like real life. I think one of the reasons I like this story so much is because my own Mother’s name was Naomi … and that means pleasant which could personify her. And my Dad has a sister named Ruth … and she and my Mom were very, very close. But, irregardless of my tie to these names, this story has all the elements needed for it to go down in history as something to remember.

Poor Naomi is living in a foreign land and loses everything – returns to her homeland and basically changes her name to represent  her sad circumstances in life. The bright and worthy situation that causes some memorable words to be penned is actually based on the love between her and the widow of her son. This widow, Ruth, desires to leave her own homeland of Moab and travel with Naomi back to Israel. She has learned of the one true God from her husband and mother-in-law and chooses this new life as opposed to her own which included the traditional pagan gods.

Have you heard these spoken at a wedding before: “Entreat me not to leave you, or to return from following after you: for where you go, I will go; where you lodge, I will lodge: your people will be my people and your God my God: where you die, I will die, and there I will be buried: the Lord do so to me and more also, if anything but death divide you and me.” Ruth 1:16-17

naomiWhen Ruth the Moabite pledged her love and loyalty to Naomi and to Naomi’s God, she marked her place in the history of Israel. Ruth has inspired millions by her beautiful words of loyalty to her mother-in-law, and through her descendants has come our Kinsman-redeemer, assuring us our place in the family of God and an inheritance of eternal life.   By Alton Howard, in the book timeless moments

Read the book of Ruth for yourself – the rest of the story is full of suspense, joy and of course, more love – you see the grief and wisdom of Naomi, the courage and willingness of Ruth and the respect and compassion of Boaz …. with Ruth getting a new husband, a son (and more children) and this first one is Obed, the father to David who would one day be King of over Israel…. et cetera …. deep sorrow turns to joy and such celebration!!

This tale is one of many that pull it all together … the eternal divine love story that has your name written in it.

You are indeed blessed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

