Posted by: R M White | 11/06/2015

Timeless Moments/8 Into Bondage

I don’t know about you but sometimes it takes God doing a lot to really grab my attention. I find myself just coasting along in life, not living to my full potential, not exercising my talents. Desperate feelings engulf those I love and I cringe in hurting for them. And we continue to just get by.  But, I don’t want to just ‘get by’  and especially by the skin of my teeth – you know, just barely making it. Whether it’s financially, or with my health, or in sharing the gospel message of freedom with others … I don’t want to just exist … only taking care of business that doesn’t matter for eternity’s sake. I want to live victoriously – or do I? Do I let my fears hold me in bondage? Am I captive in my own self-imposed prison of self-doubt?  Am I caught up in my own dramas of negation – not giving faith a fighting chance because I can’t seem to muster the courage and stick-to-it-ness to get it done?

That’s what I love about the Bible … I don’t have to go far to see myself.

Excuses, doubts?? Over and over Moses felt inadequate, and unqualified … faithfully, over and over God the merciful Father assured Moses: “Don’t be afraid. I will be with you.”

moses and the bush

“Through a burning bush in the desert, the fire of God burned it’s mark into the soul of Moses. Up to that moment, God had ordered the steps of Moses’ life, preparing him to be the one who would lead the Israelites out of Egyptian bondage. The history of the descendants of Abraham – and the world – was changed in that one timeless encounter between God and his man.”  by Alton Howard Timeless Moments

Okay, we’re getting real now – standing on the holy ground of God’s assurances. He has NOT given us a spirit of fear and doubt. He has left us with what we need to be more than conquerors!!

The Word shares moments that leave the participants standing in awe …

it leaves us, the readers, sitting in assurance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

