Posted by: R M White | 01/23/2014

Bible Readings

Our Bible reading plan is a little different this year. At first I was a little under-whelmed (you know, as opposed to overwhelmed 😉 ) I wasn’t too sure I was going to ‘get into’ this pattern for my mornings. Well, before long, I started something which I’ve continued and am really loving it. Our plan is to read through the New Testament in a year. Very, very do-able. I still am considering doing the 90 day plan again and this may be a good year for that. But I digress.

Like I said, this year’s plan for our church family is this:  New Testament In A Year.  I’m using the NIV but have looked at other versions as I go.  I do my reading but rather slowly, considering the references that go along with the verses I’m on. I also am taking time to look at the maps and even read about locations in my little Bible atlas. Have I shared before how I like to ‘write’ in my Bible? I write relevant little notes, I ‘talk’ to God, talk to myself, draw little symbols that have significance for me, I use colors to represent ‘chain’ studies, and I mark my reading plans year by year. I have a ‘study’ Bible so, I even write study notes in the concordance/index of chain topics areas.  The Bible I’m presently using is my 3rd well-used Bible. My next one will be several years from now in LARGE PRINT!!  I have used the NIV study Bible and now use the Thompson chain reference. I also am very friendly with Bible Gateway online and have E-Sword downloaded to my laptop. I know lots of folks are really into their ‘tablets’ for Bible study and readings but I’m just not there yet, and perhaps may never be comfortable with that route. I really prefer hard-bound books vs a kindle any day. Here’s the study Bibles I have used and loved.

0-0-0-0

076176: NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Brown Kirvella Imitation Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984 NIV Thompson Chain-Reference Bible, Brown Kirvella Imitation Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984For years the unique Thompson Chain-Reference system has been a favorite study tool, and for good reason. Easy to learn and use, the Thompson Chain-Reference system contains over 100,000 topical references in over 8,000 chain topics, helping to make in-depth topical study and lesson preparation easier and more efficient. The Thompson Chain is also known for its excellent archaeological supplement and extensive collection of charts, diagrams, and other illustrations.Features

0-0-0-0

438922: NIV Study Bible, Hardcover NIV Study Bible, HardcoverThe NIV Study Bible is the #1 bestselling study Bible in the world’s most popular modern English Bible translation—the New International Version. This best-loved NIV Study Bible features a stunning four-color interior with full-color photographs, maps, charts, and illustrations. Since its first release in 1985, the Gold Medallion Award-winning NIV Study Bible has become the treasured and trusted companion of over nine million Bible readers. The in-depth notes are coded to highlight notes of special interest in the areas of character study, archaeology, and personal application.Visually arresting section breaks help you find your bearing in the Bible. Full-color photos, maps, and illustrations make this study Bible accessible and friendly. Referred to daily by millions of pastors, students, church leaders, and other Bible readers around the world, the over-20,000 NIV Study Bible notes are the handiwork of the same translation team that produced this Bible’s text. The very best evangelical scholarship that brought you today’s most popular modern English Bible also contributed to the most celebrated and widely used study notes in existence. All of these features, and more, also make it perfect for homeschool use. Like no other Bible, the NIV Study Bible places an entire resource library for Bible study in your hands.

0-0-0-0

So, we’re currently in Matthew and have just finished up the 14th chapter. Oh my! So much richness already and we’ve barely just begun! I love this plan for my mornings. I hope now that I’ve started back into my blogging to be able to share some of my reflections. I’m no scholar but I love the Word and so, be assured I probably won’t be sharing anything revolutionary but it’ll be from my heart. I love to read and study and just fill myself up with it.

I consider God’s Word to be one of my most magnificent gifts in life. I pray I never take it for granted.

Why don’t you join us? It wouldn’t take long to catch up, or you could just begin with today’s reading in Matthew chapter 15:1-20. Jesus is full of advice for good-living. A life in Him is truly abundant.

New Testament In A Year

Responses

  1. […] love the book of Acts – it’s where we are in our daily readings. Having just finished the four gospels over five and a half months has been really neat. Reading only […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

