Posted by: R M White | 08/14/2013

Blankets

There are a good number of occasions when I enjoy blankets … a light weight afghan when I’m curled up watching a movie, a comfy fleece while reading a book, a cozy quilt on the bed and if the cold warrants it, a nice heavy comforter. I’ve even taken a light-weight cover with me outdoors in these cool mornings of summer!

In nature we see other forms of blankets … like this verse from Psalms 147: 16 (GNT) He spreads snow like a blanket and scatters frost like dust.  Or …

  • ‘we looked up and saw there was a blanket of stars’
  • ‘the field was blanketed in flowers’
  • ‘I woke to the autumns’ first blanket of frost’

A week or so ago we got up and went outside in the early, near dawn hour of the day. As we sat, we discussed the unusual morning – there was a dense cloud cover, and a humid heat was hanging over everything just like a blanket. No air moving, no crisp beginning to the day – just a feeling of heaviness. However, within the hour a gentle breeze started and gradually picked up to a light wind. The heaviness across the field folded back as we watched – soon there were lighter clouds we could see behind the heavy ones. It was just like God was throwing back a cover to reveal the sunshine that was to come.

The next day the pastures were blanketed in fog. We could only see out several hundred feet or so. It was a thick, dense fog that you would be able to walk through and touch all around you. It took me back to days when I lived in Santa Ana, CA and I’d walk to elementary school with friends in the early morning fog.  This fog would literally rise up through the morning – we’d begin our walk and it was a few inches above the ground – by the time we’d reach the school grounds it would have lifted to over our heads. Our family experienced thick fogs in mountains of Nigeria and Honduras too – well, I guess it was really the clouds coming down to greet us. It’s always amazing when the blankets of fog lift and the sun shines through. I wrote a note last year after we had experienced several days of dense fog. Then one day, the Lord blessed us with a Cotton Candy morning.

I have learned that in these foothills it’s not unusual to have foggy mornings. What worries me is that some have said for every foggy morning you will have equal days of snow in the winter. Well, that could also be a delight (if the conditions are ‘right’)!

Anyway, I love how the Creator gave us such variations in life –

  • hot, humid, cloudy, sunshiny, rainy, snowy, bitter-cold, mild with the chance of showers! And also,
  • happy, content, disgruntled, disappointed, excited, satisfied, thrilled, and even bored.

If there was no ‘bad’ weather, I, sure as shootin’, wouldn’t appreciate the sunshine days nearly as much.

And if all I had were moments of pleasure and satisfaction I might truly never strive to better myself or my world.

I think God knew the ‘same-old, same-old’ day in and day out would get timeworn. He did everything just right for our enjoyment and growth in this world. He challenges and tests each of us to be our best and to seek His guidance and wisdom.

When we have these days and days of rain we rejoice all the more for the gifts of sunlight. When many suffer from times of drought and heat, they celebrate and praise Him for answers of rain.

And to carry along this theme a little here is part of one of very favorite chapters in the Bible … these verses help remind me that just when I think I can’t do ‘it’ any more, the season will change; or just when I get too self-satisfied, the ‘bottom’ may fall out.  In all, I look to God and know, I am in his hands, and ultimately, if I seek his guidance, every little thing will work out to his glory.

068

Ecclesiastes 3  (NIV)

A Time for Everything

 3 There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity under the heavens:

 2 a time to be born and a time to die,

a time to plant and a time to uproot,

3 a time to kill and a time to heal,

a time to tear down and a time to build,

4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,

a time to mourn and a time to dance,

5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,

a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,

6 a time to search and a time to give up,

a time to keep and a time to throw away,

7 a time to tear and a time to mend,

a time to be silent and a time to speak,

8 a time to love and a time to hate,

a time for war and a time for peace.

 

9 What do workers gain from their toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. 12 I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. 13 That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. 14 I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.

 

15 Whatever is has already been,

and what will be has been before;

and God will call the past to account.

 

Blankets – they’re pretty cool – even a blanket of fog.

Leave a Reply

Categories

