Posted by: R M White | 07/07/2012

Believe

In our readings of the NT in 90 Days we’re all the way into Day 21 and I have to confess here, I couldn’t seem to leave well enough alone, so I switched my reading to go directly from Mark to John so I could keep Luke and Acts in order of author … that means I just finished John and my Day 22 will be in Luke. It kinda messes up Lowell and I doing this exactly together but, we still discuss and all is good. I did give him fair warning of my intentions.

So, certain words shine for me – like “believe” and “glorify” and variations of those 2 words.  Believe is used over 120 times in Matthew, Mark and John and in all sorts of ways – commands to believe from Jesus, descriptions of people believing, and every so often, the absolute lack of belief which so very sad and disappointing.

Some outstanding instances:

Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go! Let it be done just as you believed it would.” And his servant was healed at that moment. Matthew 8:13

Now, isn’t that extraordinary?  – the guy just knew Christ could do it and the healing was done!

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” Matthew 21:22

I wonder if the apostles really got that? (maybe not until later)

Overhearing what they said, Jesus told him, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.”  Mark 5:36

Sometimes, I just get so moved when we get to see the heart of Jesus  like here when he says don’t be afraid – because we all know, life can just be scary sometimes – especially if we listen to the doubters around us … “just believe!” and fear leaves in a heartbeat.

“Truly I tell you, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they say will happen, it will be done for them. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. Mark 11:23-24

Again, the unstoppable power in belief!! Do we get it? Do I believe?

Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned. Mark 16:16 … straight from the Master’s mouth.

That’s a great example of belief leading to actions … and of course, not believing has its own consequence. Like here:

… that everyone who believes may have eternal life in him.”

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on them.  John 3:15,16,18,36

The verses here go right along with Mark 16:16 and belief leading to positive actions or lack of belief equals no actions and thus, condemnation.

And I love the section of John chapter 4 about this Samaritan lady – she obviously has had some problems – gone through death and/or divorce of husbands and for whatever reason, now lives unmarried with a man – but she had enough influence and credibility that the people of her town believed her when she boldly told them of her meeting with Jesus – that he was the Messiah.  (I also love and am studying ‘living water’ – you know, you get into the Word and one thing leads to another – so rich!!)

They said to the woman, “We no longer believe just because of what you said; now we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this man really is the Savior of the world.” John 4:42

So many of the belief verses are connected to our eternal life – we sure won’t have one with it.  But, before eternal life we also get some good things like this:

Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.” John 7:38

And this:
I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness. John 12:46

Darkness can be such a scary thing and we have a way out!

Lots of the statements of Jesus were made knowing that they would be remembered later and those words would help substantiate the belief of the followers.  One example of several was this:

I have told you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe. John 14:29

And here is two imperative commands straight from Jesus:
[ Jesus Comforts His Disciples ] “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God ; believe also in me. John 14:1   basically – you can’t have God if you don’t have the Son.

Sometimes Thomas gets stuck with the nickname ‘doubting Thomas’ but his reaction to this ‘unbelievable’ occurrence is a pivotal statement in the Bible …

26 A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” 27 Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”

28 Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!” John 20:26-28

Thomas went on to live boldly, along with the other apostles and disciples…  teaching others throughout the world.

Believing is going to lead to actions – if you really, truly believe then, great things are going to happen. Believers in Jesus Christ walk a certain way – like in bravery, in boldness, in a ‘sureness of step’.  Jesus says things like, believe and it will happen in-so-much as you believe. Wow, be careful with that one! He might just surprise you in mighty ways!

So tomorrow I get to fall into Luke and once again delight in the Word! I’m sure to see some more great beliefs statements … You should join me on the journey. 🙂

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on snipewife and commented:
    Well I should just use this for my camp lesson! LOL Actually I’ll reblog this now and when I come back I’ll post my lesson and have a comparision. Thanks for the reflections, Robin!

    • Thanks for stopping by and you are so very welcome. btw, I love camp — hope it was great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

