Posted by: R M White | 02/27/2012

Centered, Stayed, Stayin’ On Jesus

I woke up singing this song – quietly so as not to awaken Lowell, but, really sang it all the way down the stairs. When he joined me a little later for morning coffee I sang a little of it for him and he didn’t recognize it … so this was ‘before Lowell’ time?

I was it singing how I remembered: “I woke up this morning with my mind (echo: where was your mind) centered on Jesus” etc … on to, prayin and talkin, singin and walkin’ … all on Jesus.

Well, I looked up the lyrics and realized I must’ve remembered them wrong because the most popular ones were ‘stayin on Jesus’ although the below set indicate the echo part which I clearly remember and they are the only ones I saw with that part. (I never saw the ‘centered’ version I had in my head)

I think I sang this with friends  going and coming from church either at Refuge or Luray while we were at Freed-Hardeman … those were fun singing times. It could be I’m remembering way back to the days of singing at Palmetto Bible Camp or the youth rallies I used to attend as a teenager. Anyway, it has been years since I sang that song and it makes you wonder how in the world our brains work to draw something like a song up from the depths of some long ago time and thus impact your day.

This is great scripture that actually goes with the sentiment of the words and I am happy to begin my week this way.

Philippians 2:5-11 (NRSV)

5Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus, 6who, though he was in the form of God, did not regard equality with God as something to be exploited, 7but emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, being born in human likeness. And being found in human form, 8he humbled himself and became obedient to the point of death— even death on a cross. 9Therefore God also highly exalted him and gave him the name that is above every name, 10so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, 11and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

Here’s one set of lyrics I really liked enough to share – they are totally different.

Woke up dis morning


Oh, I woke up dis mornin’ wid mah min’ / An’ it was stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Woke up dis mornin’ wid mah min’ / An’ it was stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Hallelujah
Can’t hate your neighbor in your min’ / If you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Can’t hate
your neighbor in your min’ / An’ it was stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Hallelujah

Makes you love everybody with your min’ / When you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus /
Makes you love everybody with your min’ / When you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus /
Hallelujah

De devil can’t catch you in your min’ / If you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus / De devil can’t catch you in your min’ / If you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Hallelujah

Jesus is de captain in your min’ / When you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Jesus is de
captain in your min’ / When you keep it stayed / Stayed on Jesus / Hallelujah

Aren’t those some really powerful words?  I really, really like them. I think I’ll commit them to memory because I don’t want to hate my neighbor, I do want to love everybody,  I don’t want the devil to catch my mind and sure as shootin, I do want Jesus to be the captain of my mind!!

This is the way I want to walk this week. How about you?

Oh, and I watched a number of videos to see if I ever caught the echo version … you know the old spiritual way of singing a song with questions … like a brother saying “well….???” in a sermon asking for the involvement, the interaction – love it.

Anyway, here’s one I enjoyed … hope you do too! 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

