Posted by: R M White | 11/28/2011

No Way!

It’s impossible for me to believe I have been MIA from this site for over 2 weeks! No way!

Why is time so fleeting? Sometimes, for me, I think it’s because we live here  in Santa Rosa and our lives are so filled up – every single day there’s something to get done, someplace to be – and that’s why it seems it’s just zooming by. Also, I know I’m getting older and probably for that reason as well time seems to be flying by. But, then our Jake, who’s only a teen-ager says the same thing – time goes by too fast. So, I have no answer. Whatever the reason, I was gone and now I’m back.

Oh my! We are on Day 57 of our 90 Day Bible Challenge. I believe I mentioned how I’d been wanting to read the Bible from cover-to-cover like a novel – I mean, the ‘read-the-Bible-in-a-year’ systems are great but I’ve never taken a year to read any other books. I’m happy to be where I am with this.

Heading on to day 58 of the Bible in 90 days!

So … how’s it going?

Well, it’s INTENSE! There are so many emotions in this ongoing story of love, redemption, betrayal, deception, repentance and mercy. Sometimes the story just gets too heavy. Just when the violence is too much God’s grace is again made manifest. Just when I think I can’t stand any more annoying, two-faced behavior of the Hebrew people, a light is seen and the path to righteousness is made clear.

One glaring characteristic of all these readings is that when the Israelites had a just, righteous king on their throne then the people cleaned up their own act – they allowed themselves to led in righteousness, they repented, fell in love with God’s law again, decided His way was the best way. This helps me to realize: when Jesus Christ is sitting on the throne of my heart I stay on my own path of righteouness. I allow Him to lead and I follow. An old  song has been re-visiting my heart since I came to this conclusion …

King of my life, I crown Thee now

  1. King of my life, I crown Thee now,
    Thine shall the glory be;
    Lest I forget Thy thorn-crowned brow,
    Lead me to Calvary.
    • Lest I forget Gethsemane;
      Lest I forget Thine agony;
      Lest I forget Thy love for me,
      Lead me to Calvary.
  1. Show me the tomb where Thou wast laid,
    Tenderly mourned and wept;
    Angels in robes of light arrayed
    Guarded Thee while Thou slept.
  2. Let me like Mary, through the gloom,
    Come with a gift to Thee;
    Show to me now the empty tomb,
    Lead me to Calvary.
  3. May I be willing, Lord, to bear
    Daily my cross for Thee;
    Even Thy cup of grief to share,
    Thou hast borne all for me.
  4. Fill me, O Lord, with Thy desire
    For all that know not Thee;
    Then touch my lips with holy fire,
    To speak of Calvary.

Which actually brings me to another point or conclusion I have come to… God, in His infinite and all-knowing wisdom knew people needed to be reminded of what is most important in life.When I see the ceremonies and celebrations that were laid out for the Hebrew people to practice I am made to realize that they all had a purpose – to remind them that they belonged to God and were saved and blessed because of His divine love and mercy. When they slacked off and were negligent or even replaced true worship with false worship then whew! That’s when trouble began in earnest.

For me, I have a newfound appreciation for the Lord’s Supper or Communion every first day of the week. The Father and Son knew my heart … that I needed to be reminded. I needed to feel remorse. I needed to remember that I was bought with a price and it was paid in full. I needed to celebrate the resurrection and I definitely need it more that once a year or even monthly.

These feelings brought another song to my memory – one that I have a deeper understanding and admiration for because week after week, by God’s decree, the curtain of my memories is rolled back and I am reminded of who I am.

Remind Me Dear Lord

Verse I

 The things that I love, and hold dear to my heart

Are just borrowed they’re not mine at all

Jesus only lets me use them to brighten my life

So remind me, remind me dear Lord

 Chorus

 Roll back the curtain of memories now and then

Show me where you brought me from

Oh, and where I could have been

Remember I’m human, and humans forget

So remind me, remind me dear Lord

 Verse II

 Nothing good have I done to deserve God’s own Son

I’m not worthy of the scars in His hand

Yet He chose the road to Calv’ry to die in my stead

Why He loved me, I can’t understand

 Repeat chorus, then:

 So remind me, remind me dear Lord

By: Dottie Rambo


Responses

  1. Amen! So lovely and inspiring…thank you for sharing your thoughts and songs playing in your heart!


Leave a Reply

Categories

