Posted by: R M White | 11/07/2011

Children of the Creator

Two things I believe (amongst loads of others but for now…)

  1. we are created in God’s image
  2. therefore each of us are designed to create

Excellent! Although I also know we are so very different from one another and some people may think they don’t have an ounce of ‘creativity’ just because they don’t draw, or write, or perform. Well, to me the ‘fine arts’ are not what defines creativity. A Wife putting together an amazing meal from what she has left in the cupboards at the end of a pay period – that is creativity! A Dad fixing a broken tractor with whatever they have on hand to finish the plowing – that is creativity. Every celebration,  every note or letter to a loved one, every innovative initiative one takes to make someone’s  or his or her life better – it’s creativity. Scientists, mathematicians, engineers all have a form of God-given creativity. I love it … creativity.

I also know we often don’t live up to, use up, develop or even begin to touch what amazing gifts we’ve been given. I’m thinking we should pay attention to what God has endowed us with. In addition, I think we really should take to heart Christ’s admonition towards this in the wonderful story of talents or gifts in  Matthew 25:14-30 –

I love this part –

  23 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

and I am not liking this part –

24 “Then the man who had received one bag of gold came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your gold in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’

   26 “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? 27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

   28 “‘So take the bag of gold from him and give it to the one who has ten bags. 29 For whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them. 30 And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

Why don’t I like it? because so often I can see myself right where he was … being afraid to use my God-talents. I don’t take advantage of opportunities, I don’t develop, I don’t trust what I have … and so I hide it. To protect me – from being hurt, from failing, from stretching … because some things just are hard. And sometimes, truth be told, I am probably too lazy to invest the time and energy it would take to develop whatever talent or gift it may be. Sometimes I know I am just shirking my responsibility … of being accountable for myself. 

But right now I am going to share something and in sharing this it will also be a challenge to myself. 

2 things really – because these are calling to my heart and I don’t want to ignore them any more … 

  1. I am going to get back into my art. Yep, I’m going to do it. I actually have started some little projects and I am even going to post pictures of what I’m up to (at my other blog). I think it’s going to be fun!
  2. I am going to develop and write these books that have been ‘written’ in my head for years now. I think that is a little scary but exciting too.

Yep, since I’ve actually put it into writing maybe I’ll get it done. One step at a time of course. But, that’s all it really takes … and the journey begins … for me anyway.

Well, in writing this note, it may seem that I have deviated from the notes on the reading I’ve been in the middle of, but actually, the readings in the Old Testament are what prompted these feelings of unrest in my heart. For some reason I hadn’t ever noticed how God delights in our really using these talents … because, whether it was in building the tabernacle or the temple, or managing super duper projects like the wall or tending for and managing all the stock and vineyards and offerings, over and over I am so impressed by God’s respect and love for beauty, detail, precision, craftsmanship, and organization.  People, people everywhere all excellent in their unique fields, using up what they are good at … to the glory of the Father.

On the other hand, if they weren’t using what they had in His honor, but unto themselves or their false gods, then watch out! The vengeance of the Lord is mighty and fierce.

What about you? What God-given talent is laying hidden? what needs to be developed in your own life? what dreams were yours that have never been fulfilled? Or on the other hand … maybe you have grabbed hold of that special something and are using it to the fullest! How sweet… how wonderful to come to the end of one’s life and know: I did it! I used it up and all to the Glory of the Father who gave us these special gifts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

