Posted by: R M White | 10/18/2011

Heading Out …

I am loving reading through the Bible in 90 Days – we just finished the 18th day and now we are into Judges. So much has happened – it’s amazing, terrible, interesting and pretty incredible. Well, I guess since there are so many God-given miracles it is seems ‘incredible’ but also, it really is credible, because it is God’s hand moving – it’s real stuff.

We’re heading out tomorrow – Lowell, Jake and I — it’s time for our 90 day stamp renewal on our passport. This means we go to a neighboring country (El Salvador) and stay 48 hours and then come back. I let my daughter know today that we’d be out of touch for a few days getting this done. She said it seemed like we just did this and that we were doing it all the time… well, except for a one-month extension one time we do this every 90 days.  And yes, it rolls around quickly. I am not complaining, we do what we gotta do.

On another note of wandering … man, I got tired along with the Israelites in all their traveling and wandering – it seems like every whip-stitch they’re up and “heading out again”. Not just a family or even a clan – we’re talking 100’s of 1,000’s of them – heading out, wandering around the desert. What an entourage they must’ve made by anyone’s standards. And their behavior – when they’re good, they’re really good and when they’re bad – they really blow it. Sometimes it’s just hard for me to believe that they kept forgetting God’s mighty hand in their lives and the punishment He has already given out – and it’s not like He doesn’t warn them. I know for me the story is going by fast … I’m reading all this in a matter of a few days and for them they’re living it day in and day out for months and years but still, you’d think they do a better job of ‘remembering’ – not just the times they were punished but God’s Love shown by all  He has done for them over and over again.

And (back to the negative) … I have definitely been much more conscious of my attitude after reading about all the grumbling of God’s chosen people. It grates on your nerves just reading about all the complaining and whining but then I look at myself and realize I’m just as forgetful and just as guilty of expecting more than the bounty I have. I take note of God’s wrath – His absolute anger at their dissatisfaction and am warned and chastised for my complaints.

On the one hand, yes, I see God’s anger – for He is a jealous Father – but then I am overwhelmed by His mercy, His generosity, His lavish care for His chosen ones. Oh, I love this God of ours. I love that He loves little details, that He delights in craftsmanship and creativity, I love the attention to elaborate beauty that He’s requiring in the tabernacle and the curtains and the robes and all the articles. From the ark to the Ark He is commanding precision and obedience to His instructions. He is having His people create holy masterpieces that will be used for generations as a sacred place to worship Him. I even love His attention to details on how to stay pure, how to stay healthy, how to honor Him,  how to be the best – for that’s what He wants – over and over – He wants the very best for His precious children – just follow and obey the instructions and you will be blessed beyond your wildest, most beautiful dreams! Ah, just listen, trust and obey!

I know God is the same today as yesterday and so I want to try harder to be the person He’d want me to be – clear down to the tiniest details of my own masterpiece – myself in Christ.

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10 

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. 1 Corinthians 6:19

Leave a Reply

Categories

