Posted by: R M White | 10/09/2011

The Bible in 90 Days

I first came across this site in early June 2011 through a blogger I follow sporadically … she was issuing a challenge to others to join her in the pursuit of reading through the Bible in 90 days. I went to the ‘official site’ and nearly signed up right then and there. I was impressed and I felt the challenge deep within me. Then my second thoughts won and I decided against it.

Second thought reasons:

#1  I would be traveling to the states for a month and then returning to who knows what … it just didn’t seem feasible that I could /would stay faithful to any reading schedule.

#2 I was already in the middle of a devotional that I wanted to carry with me and knew my early mornings would be spent in that.

#3 If and when I decided to do this, I wanted to do it ‘whole-heartedly’ unto the Lord and really ‘get it’ – enjoy the treasures, meditate, learn, … just concentrate on His Word in the intense way it called for.

The first time I read through the Bible was in my teen-age years. Our Sunday school teacher, sister Smith, challenged us to this and I think there were 4 of us who completed it. Then, throughout my life I have read through the Bible several more times at least once or twice using printed schedules on how to get through. My favorite way has been The Daily Bible put together by F LaGard Smith. But, too,  I really liked when our congregation at Archdale, led by brother Bill Ireland, used the One Year Chronological Bible put out by Tyndale.

So, anyway, October 1st became the date for my starting point in this challenge. This program is normally done as a whole congregation activity issued through the site as a full group project with active participation, accountability and all the props. I didn’t want to wait until the next organized, official time … I knew this was the time for me so, on my own and in my lonesomeness I began. However… the second day the Father surprised me with Lowell’s desire to accompany on this journey. Hooray! The best reading buddy in the world is by my side and we are now heading into our 10th reading. I love it.

There are blogging ideas and suggestions given through the 90 Day site however, I am making notes of interest as I go … in my usual way of stars, hearts, notes on the side, etc. I know I am not a Hebrew or Greek scholar but I do love the Word and pray for guidance and understanding as I go. I do want to write up some notes on here as I go along but be warned, if you decide to follow me, these thoughts are from a ‘layperson’ – just an ordinary wife and Mom who strives daily to get ‘it’ right. My impressions aren’t profound but they are mine.

Join me if you like.

0-0-0-0

7596: NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Softcover 1984 NIV Daily Bible: In Chronological Order Softcover 1984By F. LaGard Smith

Discover the Bible as the extraordinary epic it is! As the unique, chronological presentation of God’s story daily unfolds before you, you’ll begin to appreciate God’s plan for your life as never before as the Bible will become a fresh, inviting, more informative experience. Find a chronological/historical arrangement of every book of the Bible, a Devotional Commentary, 365 convenient daily reading segments, and topical arrangements for Proverbs and Ecclesiastes. Bible is arranged in chronological order; daily readings are posted as January 1, January 2, etc.

  • Organized into 365 chronological readings
  • Narrative shaded in gray
  • Cross-references

0-0-0-0

314082: The NLT One Year Chronological Bible - softcover The NLT One Year Chronological Bible – softcoverA fascinating way to read through the Bible in one year—in only fifteen minutes per day!Now you can gain a better understanding of the order of biblical events and the historical context in which they unfolded. The One Year Chronological Bible arranges the entire Bible text—books, chapters, and even verses—in the order the events actually happened.

In The One Year Chronological Bible, prophetic books are interwoven with the historical accounts they accompanied. Psalms follow the events about which they were written. Proverbs are placed in the time frame in which they were compiled. The life of Christ is woven into one moving story. And Paul’s letters to the young churches in the first century are integrated into the book of Acts.

0-0-0-0

93351X: The Bible in 90 Days: Cover to Cover in 12 Pages a Day 1984 The Bible in 90 Days: Cover to Cover in 12 Pages a Day 1984Just 12 Pages a Day
 
That’s all it takes to read the Bible in ninety days. It’s easier than you thought! Once you break it down into bite-sized pieces, what may have seemed to be a formidable challenge becomes doable and enjoyable. And this specially designed large print Bible will help you get the most out of your experience. Use it in conjunction with The Bible in 90 Days curriculum for all the benefits of sharing God’s Word in community, or use it by yourself. Either way, you’ll be fulfilling what for many Christians is a longstanding ambition: reading through the entire Bible.

0-0-0-0

941842: Bible in 90 Days: Whole-Church Challenge,  Participant"s Guide Bible in 90 Days: Whole-Church Challenge, Participant’s Guide

0-0-0-0

941545: The Bible in 90 Days: Whole Church Challenge Kit The Bible in 90 Days: Whole Church Challenge KitChallenge the members of your congregation or small group to complete what for many Christians is a lifelong goal: to read the Bible from Genesis straight through to Revelation! This motivational kit provides everything you need, including leader’s guide; participant’s guide; The Essential Bible Companion; The Bible in 90 Days NIV Thinline Bible; four DVDs; and more.

0-0-0-0
Read the Bible from cover to cover - biblein90days.org

Responses

  1. […] my! We are on Day 57 of our 90 Day Bible Challenge. I believe I mentioned how I’d been wanting to read the Bible from cover-to-cover like a […]

  2. We did this in 07, and I loved it!! I think it gave us a fresh perspective of the whole picture of the Bible. That summer I had to take a daughter to two sessions of therapy a day, 40 minute drive each way, but too long between sessions to stay put: I did most of the Bible with audio cassettes in the car. Other chapters I listened from the internet while knitting or waiting for the kids to finish a bath. Since they were so little, I don’t think I could have done it otherwise.
    3 Cheers for you for taking on the challenge without the church group support! Even if you fall behind, just keep ploughing onward because whether it’s 90 or 100 days, you will be greatly blessed. I think I finished with just minutes to spare on the clock, lol!

    • hello Rose! yay! that you did it too! I think it will give me a fresh perspective too – I’ve been talking about reading the Bible through like one of my novels for so long and now we’re finally doing it! The year-long reads are good but this way the story is staying in my heart and on my mind throughout the day. Thanks for the encouragement … we’re only on day 13 and I’m thinking I may have to use the audio feature on the site in a few days – that’ll be okay though. Thanks for the comment … it works! blessings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

