Posted by: R M White | 05/20/2011

A Few Little Words

A random Friday post … because … I don’t usually come to this blog on a Friday – this is my T – Th sometimes S blog but, when something hits me this hard it demands a response …

Just a few words and so many things fell into place … differently.

“What if you woke up today, with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?”

I don’t know about you but sometimes I am just rushed … with lots of things and even with my prayers which ought not to be. Yep, sometimes I say a ‘cover it all’ prayer with a few sentences to cover all the bases …

Dear Father,

Thank you for this day and for all my many blessings. Forgive me for all my sins and the times I really mess up. Please, bless all our loved ones. Help the sick to get better. Be with those that need you. Thank you most of all for Jesus and it is in His name I pray, Amen.”

A little brushing of my hands, got that over with, check off ‘quiet time’ with God and go on my way.

Granted, it’s not often I am that flippant, but sometimes, I know, I could do with a little more awareness on my part and a little less assumption that I am owed anything. And so, today I took this to heart and my day changed.

For example, as Jake and I walked downtown I did some praying … thanking God for all the things that really matter. I thanked Him for things that I surely do want to wake up to tomorrow … from itemized family members, specific good health, food for our day, money in the bank, the town in which we live and work, the members of the church family that make up my world, the house we call home and the specific beauties and comforts that make up our home.

I haven’t stopped – the list of what I enjoy, delight in, love having as a part of my life are all gifts from our Father. I know I love it when someone thanks me personally for something specific and I am sure the Lord appreciates it as well.

“What if you woke up today, with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

