Posted by: R M White | 04/19/2011

Christian/Disciple?

Today finds me taking a good look at my Christianity! I have always delighted in checking the “Christian” box where surveys or questionnaires end up asking what your religion is. Or, if anyone in conversation asks me what I am religiously… like here in Honduras it will for sure come up as I meet strangers from day to day…. I enjoy the wonderful feeling I have just to be able to claim Christianity as my own.

However, recently, Lowell and I have been reading The Great Omission by Dallas Willard and now that we’ve gotten into the book I am asking myself a few things. Not by any means am I second-guessing my being a Christian … bearing the name of Christ is who I am. Why? because I was baptized into His Body when I was 14… after great consideration and deliberation on my part. I don’t think I ever doubted who Jesus was or His story so much as I needed and wanted to make sure I was being baptized for me and because of my understanding and conviction … not because I was ‘born into’ this family of mine. But my point is, I am a Christian.

Am I though, the disciple I need to be? Have I apprenticed myself to Christ in a full-hearted, passionate way that is learning and following my Master’s instructions day by day?

Yes, I’m still learning and growing and I realize that there is much for me to do in this transformation that is happening in my life – I learn directly from God’s Word to me but also, I learn from my fellow Christians. I am thanking the Father that He sees fit for us to have times to reconfirm who we are. Times to renew our hearts and minds as we dig into His Word and meditate on His love  and teachings. And times of reflection on our purpose in the Divine scheme of things. Not just learning on our own, but side by side along with our brothers and sisters in the faith. I pray I maintain a humble heart that learns from those wiser and more knowledgeable than me.

I love being challenged. I can do this! I can be the disciple of Christ I desire to be … watching, learning, soaking up His word, and day by day walking in His steps in all areas of my life – as wife, Mom, sister, worker, teacher and friend. He’s given us so much to utilize … patterns, and instructions for life … and all we’re to do is, seriously, follow His example.

I know there’s a million songs that go along with these thoughts but here’s a sweet, old-fashioned one comes to my mind and maybe it’s because I can close my eyes and still hear Dad and Mom singing it. They harmonized beautifully.

 

Stepping in the Light, by William Kilpatrick

Trying to walk in the steps of the Saviour
Trying to follow our Saviour and king
Shaping our lives by His blessed example
Happy, how happy, the songs that we bring

How beautiful to walk in the steps of the Saviour
Stepping in the light, Stepping in the light
How beautiful to walk in the steps of the Saviour
Led in the paths of light!

Pressing more closely to Him who is leading
When we are tempted to turn from the way
Trusting the arm that is strong to defend us
Happy, how happy, our praises each day

Walking in footsteps of gentle forbearance
Footsteps of faithfulness mercy and love
Looking to Him for the grace freely promised
Happy, how happy, our journey above!

Trying to walk in the steps of the Saviour
Upward, still upward we'll follow our Guide
When we shall see Him, "the King in His beauty,"
Happy, how happy our place at His side!

0-0-0-0-0-0

Therefore, holy brothers and sisters, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, whom we acknowledge as our apostle and high priest.

Hebrews 3:1

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose.

Philippians 2:12.13

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.

2 Timothy 2:15


Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.

Colossians 3:16

[ Final Instructions ] Now we ask you, brothers and sisters, to acknowledge those who work hard among you, who care for you in the Lord and who admonish you.

1 Thessalonians 5:12

Leave a Reply

Categories

