Posted by: R M White | 03/09/2011

Wednesdays and The Balancing Act

Am I Balanced?

Today I am reposting  note from my past  – here I am in another country and once again lists don’t mean here what they mean there. I actually read something the other day that Lee posted on my wall on facebook – her grandmother made a “have done” list at the end of the day. Now, that I can live with.  but, here goes the original …

0-0-0-0-0-0-0

For me Wednesdays represent a balancing act for my week. You see, with it being the middle of the week, I try and take stock. I can usually tell if I am on track for what needs to be done. Am I going to make my goals? Do I need to reevaluate? Do I need to come up with a new agenda or ‘to do’ list? Or, glory be, do I get to add new stuff because this was checked off and this and this? (unfortunately, the latter is pretty rare). Time seems to go by so quickly. For the most part my days are always busy, and since I am a proverbial list maker there’s always adding to and checking off going on and a list here and there around the house.

I like it … living this way with lists. However, I believe living in other countries helped me not to be obsessed with them or get terribly upset when the plan for the day got totally scrapped. Plan A turned into B and then to C … and more often than not a list or plan was thrown out the window and I just had to live moment to moment.

I like that too, just living off the cuff … fully and completely. I married a man who lives in spontaneity … Lowell does the important stuff on time and takes care of obligations but this trait of being able to live spontaneously is pretty strong and you know what? I see it as one of his virtues. Living with this naturalness allows one to not feel so bound to time. One is more apt to enjoy the moments and take advantage of random experiences that end up being precious and dear memories.

I believe the Father would love for us to live in both realms – make your list, check off your accomplishments, but don’t let it become a mini-god that keeps you from taking that unplanned walk, play that game, visit that friend. On the other hand, don’t allow that natural tendency of spontaneity to get you into trouble by not ‘being there’ when you’re called on.

Which brings me to this balancing act of Wednesdays … am I behind on stuff, or right on schedule? Did the necessities get done? Have I done my best? For myself, I understand how I’m made. Invariably I must challenge myself to do better and better. Even though I can change my mind in a flash or work with upsets without any overt stress, I do relish a good routine and a list to check off this and that. For me, it’s good to re-do the to-do and then not beat myself up over what I thought was so important yesterday. I am not a competitive person with others, but to compete with myself is a different game entirely. Pushing myself over this obstacle and striking out to try something new is exciting.

This Wednesday I am acknowledging the place I am right now in life, and for whatever reason I am once again re-evaluating my list. It’s okay. I have decided I am balanced. I got a lot done yesterday – not what was intended initially. I was worn out from the effort, but I learned how to do new things. My original goals for this week have been turned topsy-turvy and I find myself actually excited with this new target of to-dos.

So there you have it: some reflections on time, addressing the value of it and how it’s spent. Life is great when you’re having fun. Are you having fun? Do you rejoice in the plans when they go your way and even when they go the way of the wind, out of your control and into the hands of the Father?

Proverbs 16:
9 In his heart a man plans his course,
but the LORD determines his steps.

Proverbs 19:
21 Many are the plans in a man’s heart,
but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

Isaiah 32:
8 But the noble man makes noble plans,
and by noble deeds he stands.

Ephesians 5:
15Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, 16making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. 17Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.

James 4:
13Go to now, ye that say, To day or to morrow we will go into such a city, and continue there a year, and buy and sell, and get gain:
14Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.
15For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.

Psalm 118:
23 the LORD has done this,
and it is marvelous in our eyes.
24 This is the day the LORD has made;
let us rejoice and be glad in it.
25 O LORD, save us;
O LORD, grant us success.

Philippians 4:
4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!

0-0-0-0-0

Subscribe in a reader

Responses

  1. Robin, thank you for visiting my blog and leaving such kind comments. I have been looking at some of your posts and see that we have much in common! I’ll be visiting again soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

