Posted by: R M White | 02/03/2011

Created In His Image

Today Lowell and I began our day reading the book The Noticer by Andy Andrews – it’s our current choice for our morning quiet times. We really like Andy Andrews and have several of his books. The chapter this morning was about a lady named Willow – isn’t that a lovely name? The reading was exquisite and spoke to my heart. You see, Willow was feeling old and ‘unnecessary’. Like she had lived out her welcome and what was the point of her even taking up space? You see, I can identify with her and at some time or other I believe we all feel the same. There are times I question my existence. Why am I here? What am I good for? Am I making a difference? Does anything I do even matter in the whole big wide world’s scheme of things?

I mean, it doesn’t happen often and it is usually tied to something else that has hurt me or gone wrong in my day. Or, on the other hand these feelings of unworthiness can attack right after I have experienced a spiritual high – after a time of fulfillment. The onslaughts of Satan are devious – he’s always crafty in his attacks.

Thank the Father we have the reassurance of his written Word – his love story ever reminds us of how we were made so lovingly and beautifully in his incredible image. Not only that, we were created with purposes and works planned just for us to fulfill. As frail and fickle as I am, as unworthy as I may be … I have a calling of the Most High King to fulfill my purpose today and every day.

Oh, I am so blessed and grateful to be reminded …

He knitted me with his own hands...

Genesis 1:27
So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

Psalm 139:

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

Ephesians 2:10
For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

 

Never, never, never forget – YOU are created in the image of the Most High God … to do wonderful good works that will today and forever more surely make a difference.

Leave a Reply

Categories

