Posted by: R M White | 11/20/2010

Behold the Flowers

Every so often I am convinced God gives us reminders of His wonderful grace. This time He did it through flowers.
You see, it’s confession time – I have been struggling. I am basically not a worrier. I am more inclined to be a positiver thinker. However, in recent weeks and perhaps the whole time in Honduras so far, I have had to purposefully put on a cheerful face. Thinking positively hasn’t come naturally to this sunshine girl in quite a while. I chalk this up to any number of reasons but don’t want to make excuses for myself by whining.
I’m not unusual or different from any number of you, perhaps the only variance is me living in Honduras … which yes, has its cultural hurdles and the difficulties that are brought on by language barriers. (and hey, I know you have your own hurdles every day). But for right now, I am here to say, there are times when life just seems to hurl bad stuff at us. It’s not always big things that leave a visible mark either, sometimes it can be those little things that wear on you day by day. This bad stuff can be the people around you, or even the weather, or the lack of what you need, or too much information, or the missing of someone, or this old body betraying us when we’re counting on it ‘holding up’. Yep, anyone who has known me for a short while or for years knows I usually stay on top of all this stuff.
Today I decided to put my foot down. I am sick of stinkin’ thinkin’. I know God is more than in control. He is my author. I want Him to have the final say-so. I also know God didn’t design any of us to go it alone. We are a part of a divine family for a reason and that is simply to help one another along as we walk this way. We do this through encouraging words, hugs, prayers, and just being there for one another. You help me, and her and him and I help that one, this one and even – you.
Anyways, I am here to say that these lovely little flowers in my yard have lifted me up. They reminded me that I don’t have to do this on my own. If these little wonders are so glorious, how much more is the Father’s absolute interest in me?


These physical flowers helped me a lot this week. I have special ones in this family of God who are like flowers to my heart as well … Thank you for sharing your beauty and fragrance with me. You have made my path more do-able.

Matthew 6:27-29
27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

Leave a Reply

Categories

