Posted by: R M White | 02/07/2010

Sundays Are The Best

It’s a fact, pure and simple, no lie, absolutely and positively …  I love Sundays! I may be old-fashioned, out-dated, and even pretty simplistic … but to me, this day is the best day.

Loving Sundays is a way of life for me and for that I guess the credit (or fault, depending on whose perspective you come from) lies with my parents. I don’t ever remember my life not centering around the upcoming Lord’s Day. And then, when you in the middle of it – well, it just reverberates with love and times of worship and study and is truly wonderful.

Many people love certain Sundays over others … for some the Sundays near holidays are the best – Christmas or Easter. Today is the favorite for loads because of the Super Bowl (I had to ask Lowell to remind me who was playing – we’ll probably go to a S. B. party with church folks but for me it will be for the fellowship). Some of my favorite Sundays are when family has gathered for this reason or that and we can worship together! I love a pew full of family stretched out just so.

Sundays are only special because of The One … and the The Act which leads to The Resurrection! And That is the whole reason for life itself … just living to love, worship, emulate, and rejoice in Jesus.

Sundays are unique because family has created simple traditions or routines that are peculiar to this day only. When I was a kid, ours always started on Saturday – preparing for the next morning – the anticipatory readiness to meet with others. Getting baths, hair pinned up and Bible lessons completed.

Then, that morning, Dad was ready first and would usually be singing in his chair while the rest of us finished up … the gathering of Bibles and lesson books, money for the Offering and scooting out the door. In our immediate family Lowell always took an active part in the getting ready when the big kids were little … he’d dress the kiddos in clothes I had already laid out, even knew how to fix the girls’ hair. Fun, expectant moments … good memories.

I always loved Sunday school. They are some of the best moments of childhood memories. The fun songs, the stories, the teachers, the lessons learned and gathering with my bestest friends … from my itsy-bitsy years to high-school, clear to my adult years – I loved and still love ‘Sunday school’! Being a student or teaching… God’s word is never boring or obsolete and it is an honor and privilege to gather around it.

Worship with others is such a wonder – from country to country, state to state and city to city – God’s people gathered in Jesus’ name to sing, pray, commune and learn – I never cease to be in awe of this sacred time.

Then there’s the visiting afterward – hugs and laughter, catching up, encouragement … just the loving chatter that sashays around the auditorium and hallways … aw, I love the Family of God.

Which leads us to Sunday Afternoons … another best! The ride home from church is a time of anticipation – our family still does the Sunday dinners around the table and nothing can beat the smell of good cooking when you walk in the door from ‘church’. These are some of the best times of Gathering for Dads and Moms and their kids. When we have others over, and even if it’s just us, we sit and linger … visiting with one another – it is another form of savoring family.

Of course, when you’re full spiritually and physically then there’s nothing like a good Sunday afternoon nap! Or at least a quiet time in the house … it’s peaceful and tranquil. Mmmm, good.

Yes, for me, Sunday are the Best.

It’s a fact, pure and simple, no lie, absolutely and positively …  I love Sundays!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 Psalm 122

1 I rejoiced with those who said to me,
       “Let us go to the house of the LORD.”

Isaiah 2:

3 Many peoples will come and say,
       “Come, let us go up to the mountain of the LORD,
       to the house of the God of Jacob.
       He will teach us his ways,
       so that we may walk in his paths.”
       The law will go out from Zion,
       the word of the LORD from Jerusalem.

Colossians 3:

15Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. 16Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. 17And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

2 Timothy 1:

4Recalling your tears, I long to see you, so that I may be filled with joy. 5I have been reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also.

Responses

  1. […] over a year ago I wrote a note called Sundays Are the Best and you know what? I still feel that way. However, my Sundays here in Santa Rosa are so different […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

