Posted by: R M White | 05/22/2009

Random Act of Kindness …

It was just a little thing, but it made me smile and think some good thoughts. Happy, happy heart.

So, yesterday found me running errands – something I try to do only about once a week or so. There was like 4 or 5 things on my to do list and the grocery store was near the end – hooray! You know how you go in to get just those 2 or 3 items on your list and then the stuff in your cart increases as you give into ‘impulse’ buying? Well, I actually was pretty proud of myself, only 1 impulse purchase but then after getting the necessary sour cream I noticed ice cream was ‘buy one, get one free’ and it was the brand we like. We did not need ice cream – I mean, I had just re-started my Tae-bo that morning and had made the resolve to eat ‘healthy’. But hey, I could get the “1/2 the fat” version and go easy with that. Hmmm.

All this pondering and then a lady next to me starts talking with me – do I see the Vanilla Bean flavor? Good deal! and then she did it – offered me her free one. What?

Her – “Hey, if you’re about ready to check out I can give you my free one. I really don’t need two but it’s a shame not to take advantage of the offer.”

Did I hear correctly?

Me – “Ahh, Yes, this was my last stop.”

Her – “Okay then, which one do you want?”

I chose.

Her – “I have to grab some eggs and I will see you at the check out.”

I was like, yeah, right … so, I went on up to the front of the store, to my 20 items or less line, and was just about through when I got a tap on the arm and the bag boy says, “This is from that lady.”

It was the butter pecan ice cream, 1/2 the fat.

I looked around and told her “Thanks! You are so sweet.”

My cashier and bag person smiled as I explained what she had done. I moved on out to my car, got my groceries unloaded, put the cart in the appropriate location and then waited. When I saw her go to her car, with 2 carts full, (she had help getting the stuff out there) I drove over to her –

I rolled down my window and called out to her – “Hey …” – and she walked over.

“Thanks again. You really touched my heart. I am going to write in my journal about you – you made my day!”

Smiling big, she stuck her hand through the window and we properly introduced ourselves.

Well, Ruth Ann Wilburn, I may never meet you again but you taught me a valuable life lesson. I mean I believe in kindness and think that generally I am kind to others, however, I wonder how often I get so caught up in ME that I forget to look around to see what random act of kindness I might could do? I think I get so stuck in “purposed acts” that sometimes I overlook random.

Also, when I shared this little episode with my husband he had this preconceived idea of what Ruth Ann looked like, who she was. He imagined a older woman, silver hair, grandmotherly type.

Well, Mary Ann was half my age, a little petite country girl, strawberry blond hair pulled back in a pony tail, a face covered with the cutest freckles, a smile that could light up anyone’s day, and judging from all those groceries, probably a Mommy with several kiddos. It was a honor to shake her hand.

My day had been blessed with a random act of kindness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

