Posted by: R M White | 08/02/2008

The Serendipity of Heroes – Here and Abroad (part 4)

 

The Bible compares life to a race – maybe not a fast race, more like a marathon and we all have to sometimes struggle to keep on track. I believe God allows people in our lives to inspire us when the going gets tough, when you’re not sure if you make that next step. My life is full of people who influence me – past and present. I guess all of us have these people in our lives but because of having so much time to think and meditate lately I have been reflecting more about these particular people. (When you’re sitting beside someone and they don’t actually talk with you – you think and if you have a laptop (thank you, Lowell) you can type out those thoughts that are really sometimes just prayers…) 

My husband, Lowell, is my first and foremost hero – for so many reasons but I guess the biggest would be because he exhibits patience every single day. I know the life we are living now has to be frustrating to the extreme at times. I see him sacrificing his dreams so I can do what I have to do. I know he gets discouraged …even though we both realize this is a temporary situation. I say good-bye to him week after week and he carries on with cooking and caring for Jacob in my absence. He continues to understand my utter exhaustion. I don’t take him or his love for me granted and he knows it but it is hard. And who said life is easy? Not me. What carries me through, puts a smile on my face, a zip in my step when I really feel like crawling into bed is the love and encouragement from this wonderful man I married. And he’s currently one of the ‘abroad’ heroes – those who make sacrifices to go overseas to do mission work. It is one of his main loves – foreign missions and I love him for it.

My sister, Faye is my ongoing hero – to me she is amazing. She opens her home to all the people who have made such a difference in our lives as we care for our family. She does all the busy paper work and phone work of details – for the government, the house-selling/maintenance, the medications, the medical/social work staff, etc. She did this for first Dad, then Mom, and now Jonell. She makes friends with these people and they love coming to her house or talking with her on the phone. That in itself is a full-time job but then she cooks, cleans, does laundry, welcomes family and friends that visit, and on top of that, takes care of our sweet Jonell. All of this takes a profound amount of energy. Yes, I go up to their home almost weekly and I try my best to alleviate some of the stress, take over some of the responsibilities and take my turn with Jonell but for Faye there’s always one more call to make, one more paper to sign… and only she can do it. In spite of being utterly and completely exhausted, she keeps on going and going. She is my hero – one of life’s ‘in the trenches’, ‘making a difference’ heroes… Every family has this person and our family is blessed to have Faye.

 

I have 3 special serendipity friends/heroes because of time in Honduras and Yes! Honduras is on my mind because of Lowell and Jacob being there. These 3 ladies inspire me. They help me to remember and believe in dreams. They are Terri, Jennifer, and Janna Beth. Each are unique but each of them have generous hearts, amazing God-like spirits, and undying love for the people of Honduras. They not only talk about making life better for precious souls, they are doing just that every single day. Whether it is caring for children in a loving, self-sacrificing way, or doing all the busywork of making a successful mission trip happen, or helping to build a house, hand out clothes or food…. My life has been touched by each of them in wonderful ways.

 I sometimes just sit in awe and thank God that he has allowed me to meet and know these amazing people in this life. I feel so privileged and remain grateful.

I believe each of these servants will be able to say:

II Timothy 4:6 For I am already being poured out like a drink offering… 7I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

