Posted by: R M White | 08/02/2008

… Of Blueberries!! (part 3)

Note: I wrote this about 3 or so weeks ago – didn’t have a moment until now to concentrate on it… and yes, the deer and I are still picking berries…

Yesterday morning and this morning was the serendipity blessing of the blueberries. My brother-in-law, Ray, planted these 8 or so wonderful bushes about 4, maybe 5 years ago. Well, there are lots of berries this year. They are getting ripe now and Baby Jake, in his stroller, Senga, the collie, and I traipsed down to the bushes and picked to my heart’s content. I give Jake little branches that I break off so he can pick his own and eat – he loves them. I participate in this pleasant little pastime while Jonell’s C.N.A., Amanda, is here for her 3 hours, so I know she is in good hands. I can relax, marvel, enjoy and talk with God, the baby and the dog to my heart’s content. Oh, by the way, I usually pick by daylight and the deer are picking by night. Their evidence is all around the pond side of the bushes…Ray said he looked out early one morning and counted 8 deer! Sweet.

As I move from one bush to the next I’ve had all kinds of thoughts about these blueberries and I guess it would carry over to fruit in general. You see, even on one individual cluster, they don’t all ripen at one time and the shade of their colors are so pretty as they move through the stages of their short lives – from pale green, to white, then shades of pink and finally their dark rich purple – their journey is lovely. But they’re really not ready to fulfill their purpose – to give the richest blessing to the recipient – until their life is almost over and they drop off into your waiting fingers. Oh! What a delight they are then.

Well, God uses the analogy of fruit to express so many points throughout the scriptures and I know nothing I say will be new but I was thinking about us and how we grow and develop our spiritual fruit. We’re each on our own journeys and the stages of our fruit varies from day to day. Our maturity of one discipline or virtue may be much further advanced in one area and still need ripening in another. I guess it actually depends on where we happen to be in life at any given time as to what virtue may be ripening right then. It may be love for others – like God chooses to expose you to someone who touches your heart. Or maybe peace – when all your life is in turmoil and you decide to pray and a peace settles on your spirit. Self control is a biggie that comes to perfection over the years – finally one day you are in a situation and you react in a godly way and surprise even yourself at your maturity! No good attribute develops randomly without thoughtful consideration to our actions. It takes time and cultivation to be the Christ-like person God desires us to be. We are beautiful to behold along the way – but when we ripen to perfection – look out! What a joy we are to those around us.

Galatians 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23gentleness and self-control.

Post Script:
I will be freezing most of these berries for future use in jams, jellies and dessert. My sweet Lowell loves blueberries! He enjoys them on his cereal, over ice cream, in fruit salad – anyways, an added blessing to enjoying this time of berry-picking is that while Lowell is away and I move along picking, I think of him, pray for him, thank God for him and I know I am storing up future delight for the months to come. Doesn’t it just make you want to smile? MMMM

Leave a Reply

Categories

